South African Parastatal and Tertiary Institutions Union

University of Johannesburg

SAPTU UJ caters for all UJ staff – anyone can become a member, in any occupation.

Our services extend to administrative, service, support and academic staff here at UJ.

SAPTU UJ is well known for the delivery of a high quality professional service to all members. SAPTU UJ is involved in annual salary negotiations, conditions of service issues, disciplinary hearings, resolving workplace disputes, recruitment, committee membership and giving input to management on a range of staff related matters.

Our membership fee is a ridiculously low R44 per month, which must rate as the best value for money anyone can offer!

SAPTU UJ has a long a proud track record of working very hard for our union members. For example, as lead negotiator Prof Sonnekus secured a 7.25% increase for staff and for posts 15 and 14 we reached an agreement of an 8% increase for the 2015 year.

It is of utmost importance that we continue to canvas new members in order to maintain the required membership % set by the University to still have effective negotiating powers.


WHO TO CONTACT:

Prof Jean Sonnekus
Prof JC Sonnekus (Chairperson)
Faculty of Law; Department of Private Law
University of Johannesburg
Qualifications: BA Law, LLB, LLM,(RAU) DrsIur LLD (Leiden)
Contact Details: Tel: +27 (0) 11 559 2130; Fax: +27 (0) 11 559 2049; Office: APK: A-Ring 723
jsonnekus@uj.ac.za
SAPTU UJ Management:
Gerrie du Preez – gerriedp@uj.ac.za (Administration)
Zelda Geldenhuys – zeldag@uj.ac.za (Library)
Catrin Ver Loren Van Themaat – catrinv@uj.ac.za (Library)
Erica Pretorius – ericap@uj.ac.za (ADS)
Arno Louw – alouw@uj.ac.za (ADS)
Richard Greenfield – rgreenfield@uj.ac.za
(Science) Wanda Jacobs – wandaj@uj.ac.za (Nursing)
Secretary:
Rochelle Niemand – rniemand@uj.ac.za


HOW TO JOIN:
Become a member today! All you have to do is complete the membership form, scan and e-mail to Rochelle Niemand at rniemand@uj.ac.za or Prof Sonnekus jsonnekus@uj.ac.za.