Tertiary Institutions

We’ve represented the employees of tertiary institutions since our inception in 1993. We currently have strong branches at the following institutions:

Parastatal Institutions

SAPTU has members in many of the country’s companies, agencies and intergovernmental organisations which is separate from government, but whose activities serve the state.


SAPTU represents employees from senior management to skilled labour in the agricultural sector. Agriculture is an essential and stabilising part of the economy, and our members play an integral role in supplying South Africans with food on their tables.

North West University

University of Johannesburg (UJ)

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (previously Medunsa)

Stellenbosch University

Council for Geoscience

The Council for Geoscience (CGS) is one of the National Science Councils of South Africa and is the legal successor of the Geological Survey of South Africa. It was formed in 1912 by the amalgamation of three former surveys, the oldest of which – the Geological Commission of the Cape of Good Hope – was founded in 1895. Today, the CGS is a modern institution, boasting excellent facilities and expertise and ranking among the best in Africa.Ditsong Museums of South Africa.

Legal Aid SA

Legal Aid South Africa is an independent statutory body which provides legal aid to those who cannot afford their legal representation. This includes poor people and vulnerable groups such as women, children and the rural poor. It does this in an independent and unbiased manner to enhance justice and public confidence in the law and administration of justice.

Ditsong Museums of South Africa

Ditsong Museums Of South Africa is an amalgamation of eight museums, seven in Tshwane and one in Johannesburg. These museums have diverse collections covering the fields of fauna and flora, palaeontology, military history, cultural history, geology, anthropology and archaeology. The target audience for these museums are children, youth, adults, students, tourists (foreign and local), researchers and the public in general.

National Health Laboratory Service

The National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) is the largest diagnostic pathology service in South Africa, with the responsibility of supporting the national and provincial health departments in the delivery of healthcare. The NHLS provides laboratory and related public health services to over 80% of the population through a national network of laboratories. The specialised institutes include the National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD), the National Institute for Occupational Health (NIOH), and the South African Vaccine Producers (SAVP), as a subsidiary.

Universities South Africa

Universities South Africa, formerly known as Higher Education South Africa (HESA), is a membership organisation representing South Africa’s universities. Through lobbying and advocacy, Universities South Africa promote and facilitate optimum conditions for universities to operate effectively and contribute to the social, cultural and economic development of the country. It is a non-profit, non-statutory, voluntary and membership association.

Productivity SA

Productivity SA aims to promote employment growth and productivity, thereby contributing to South Africa’s socio-economic development and competitiveness. Productivity SA is managed under the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA).


We represent the staff of a wide variety of hospitality services, including:

Security & Construction

SAPTU represents members in the security and construction industry, including:

Individual Members

Individual members enjoy the same benefits as our members in clustered branches.

Fancourt Hotels

Garden Route Game Lodge

Wilderness Dunes

Mugg & Bean – A Dumeko

Point Hotel

Springbok Security

LVD Security

Santorini Security

Baseline Civils-Construction